Return to Headlines

The BFHS Girls Bowling Team Qualifies for State

February 7, 2019 - The Big Foot Chief’s girls’ bowling team qualified for the state tournament March 1-3 in Green Bay, Wisconsin at the Ashwaubenon Bowling Alley. The six state qualifiers on the team include Meghan Dykstra, Hannah Palmer, Monica Flores, Nell Ritchey, Jocelyn Arnold, and Ava Beyers. The Big Foot girls will be bowling on Saturday, March 2nd in the 12:30 heat against an opponent that is yet to be determined.. The event will be streamed on BowlStreamTV (click here for link) for those unable to make it to Green Bay

Making state is even more special and exciting for the team as this was the Big Foot’s first year bowling in the Wisconsin High School Bowling Club. Meghan Dykstra, a senior and team captain, approached administration last year with the idea of forming a bowling club. She did a cost analysis, lined up the coaches and presented before the board. It is thanks to Meghan’s dedication, the support of the Ten Pin Pub, and the Big Foot High School administration and school board that these students will be able to enjoy the experience of competing at state.

Bowling is not a new sport in high schools, but it is certainly growing in the state of Wisconsin. Nearly 200 high schools in Wisconsin have students participating on a high school bowling team and it is the fastest growing high school sport of the decade. Over 20,000 students bowl at the high school level nationwide and there are opportunities post-high school for these students as well.  The bowling industry awards over $6 million dollars in scholarships every year, and nearly 250 colleges offer collegiate level bowling.

In addition to our Girls squad, Big Foot also had a boys Varsity and JV team that bowled in District 3B, for a total of 18 bowlers.  District 3B includes teams from Clinton, Evansville, Edgerton, Janesville Parker, Janesville Craig, Monroe, Beloit Memorial, Beloit Turner, and Lake Geneva Badger.The district has three divisions:coed varsity, girls varsity, and coed junior varsity.

Congratulations and good luck to our bowlers!

BFHS Girls Bowling Team From left to right - Ms. Stacie Sheppard, Meghan Dykstra, Hannah Palmer, Ava Beyers, Monica Flores, Jocelyn Arnold

~photos courtesy of Meghan Dykstra
~Information courtesy of Ms. Stacie Sheppard, Bowling Team Coach